h1

Sushi Unlimited

August 22, 2012

Sushi Unlimited

 

I biked clear across town in the blistering summer heat to visit restaurant #14. Since my old roommate called dibs on sushi at lunch a few weeks ago, we entered Sushi Unlimited together and snagged a table next to the window.

 

The waitress waited nearly 10 minutes to take our order, so we read the descriptions of every hand roll, maki roll, nigiri, and 50% off roll. (Four pages just of sushi!) I easily narrowed down my options—shrimp and shellfish allergies sometimes come in handy for an indecisive girl—but my friend puzzled over her choice a little longer.  

 

Sushi Unlimited -- maki rolls

 

After another long 10-15 minute wait, our rolls arrived. I ordered the Spicy Johnny (left, in photo), a maki roll stuffed with tuna inside and topped with more fish and a super spicy sriracha sauce. I downed two full glasses of ice water by the end of dinner (yes, I’m a wimp), but I still enjoyed the flavor and texture of my sushi.

 

Roomie asked for the King Kong (right, in photo), a selection from the 50% off rolls section. Seaweed and rice surrounded the crab mix and avocado filling, and salmon sat on top with a drizzle of sweet and sour sauce as well as chopped nuts. She raved about both the sauce and the creamy filling, and hers disappeared from the plate before I even finished half of mine!

 

Although satisfied by the food at Sushi Unlimited, I disliked the long periods of time I had to wait to order and receive my dish, as well as the bill. However, the Little Green Coupon Machine usually prints a few pages for discounts here, so if you aren’t in a hurry, bring a coupon and check it out!

 

Sushi Unlimited -- maki rolls

 

website: click here

Davis wiki: click here

hours: Mon-Thurs 11a-9:30p; Fri-Sat 11a-10p; Sun 11a-9p

 

ordered: Spicy Johnny roll, King Kong roll

menu comments: tons of rolls, most with crab mix and/or shrimp

50% off rolls section

appetizers, bento boxes, etc.

serve alcohol

etc: service is slow, even if very few guests dining there

often have coupons in the Little Green Coupon Machine book

 

 

Leave a Reply

